After speaking with Verizon for ~5 hours and talking with dozens of techs and managers (half of whom didn’t even know what a computer was), I discovered that IF you want incoming Port 80 opened, you need to buy a static IP on a Business account. For me, that would have been ~ $135.00 a month. Being that I only use my home web servers for Family Galleries (lots and lots of photos and movies which I don’t want to pay hosting fees for), I definitely didn’t need it.  So after about 15 minutes of DNS and Apache reconfiguration, my family site was once again back on the air, thanks to DNS redirection and port 8080.  The G-Parents could once again get to the Family site. All in all, very annoying. So, if anyone out there is running a site from home using DSL or Cable, you better think long and hard before cutting over to FIOS!  You will need to either use a new port for your site (Search Engines don’t index anything other than port 80) or find a hosting provider to host your site. Thanks! So… what, my friends, will they block next? any packets containing politically sensitive keywords? I mean, they’re doing that in their text messages http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/27/us/27verizon.html I think I may have to break contract and go back amongst the proles still using cable Today I actually upgraded to the business account. Decided to take the plunge since I’m doing a lot of testing and private stuff from the house with the family. If you need help, plz post any questions in the FORUM so I don’t lose sight of the question. WordPress is great for comments about an article but the thread gets pretty long with a few good questions. That’s what the forum is for Port 8080 is also being blocked for you? 8080 is open here in Seattle but that doesn’t really help you…. I mean COME ON VERIZON!!! It’s not like we want to run facebook from our house! Sorry man Give them a call and let me know what they say. I live in Seattle and that’s the story I’m getting from my Verizon Tech. Thanks for the feedback! Anyone else out there have their blocks getting removed? I guess the most annoying part about this whole port blocking issue is that (1): it will not hurt anything on either side of the deal. If a user abuses the privilege with a large use of bandwidth, then just slap him and give ‘em warning (or remove the privilege) and (2): WTF? When I asked about running a server, the techs at my house said nothing about having to pay extra cash or anything…in fact he flat out said “Oh sure. You can run a home server for anything…personal web-page or just for files.” . sigh… I hate money egotistic companies like this…they turn something great into something shitty…reminds me of Micro$oft… Verizon used to be port 80 blocked, just checked it out here. As of today, verizon has unblocked Port 80 in Merrimac Valley, Massachusetts for me at least. Let’s hope it stays this way . -Brandon Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Verizon Fios Blocks Inbound Port 80 - 65Verizon Fios Blocks Inbound Port 80 - 88Verizon Fios Blocks Inbound Port 80 - 95